什麼是聖所?

一個被定義為“避難或安全場所”的庇護所(道德項目或救援中心)應將大象的福利放在首位,對大象和遊客的安全至關重要。這意味著不應為遊客提供騎大象,表演,洗澡,泥浴的服務,不應擁抱大象的樹幹,坐在或躺在大像上,將手甚至頭放在大象的嘴裡等等不應有喧鬧的喧鬧團體或大象周圍的人群。

最終的庇護所提供了一種“放手”的方法,使大象享有和平生活的自由。

野生像生活在亞洲的雨林或非洲平原上,這是它們的天然家園。避難所,救援中心和道德項目應為圈養的大象提供盡可能接近野外的生活,您的大象體驗應與此類似。

#LetElephantsBatheFree
#觀察大象
#EthicalTourism
 

什麼時候是庇護所

不是聖所?

在整個亞洲,使用“道德”和“庇護所”一詞已變得非常流行,並且由於許多項目使用此術語來吸引遊客,因此可能會產生誤導。

  • 如果您的活動包括與小像一起玩耍,在像上窒息泥巴,向他們扔水或與大像一起入水,那麼您選擇的項目就不會把大象的福利放在首位。這些活動僅用於訪客互動,不適用於大象。

  • 如果猛禽(大象處理人員)不斷喊叫,非常緊密地控制大象(通常用隱藏的釘子)或拉動耳朵,那麼您就沒有道德的計劃或庇護所了。

  • 如果大馴獸師告訴您大像以擺動的姿勢搖頭是正常的,他們快樂並跳舞,那麼您就不在道德計劃或庇護所之列。當大象反复搖頭時,這清楚地表明了壓力行為

大像是聰明,有情力的動物,和它們一樣美麗。

大像不是我們在馬戲團裡嘲笑或訓練繪畫的人。他們不應該因為像牙而被殺,作為一項運動被獵殺,他們的身體部位不是我們的小飾品或裝飾品,也不是我們從家人那里奪走或帶走的年輕人。我們也不需要騎,游泳或與他們一起玩。

©2019 EARS ASIA Hong Kong

What is Sanctuary?

Defined as 'a place of refuge or safety', a sanctuary (ethical project, or rescue centre) should be putting the welfare of their elephants first, with safety for both the elephants and the visitors of paramount importance. This means that visitors should not be offered elephant rides, shows, bathing, mud bathing, should not be allowed to hug the elephants' trunk, sit or lie on the elephants, put their hands or even their head in the elephant's mouth, and there should be no loud noisy groups or crowding around the elephants.

 

The ultimate Sanctuary offers a 'hands off' approach, giving the elephants their freedom to live in peace.

 

Wild elephants live in the Asian rainforests or the plains of Africa, this is their natural home. Sanctuaries, rescue centres and ethical projects should be offering their captive elephants a life as close to the wild as possible, and your elephant experience should resemble this. 

#LetElephantsBatheFree
#ObservingElephants
#EthicalTourism 
 

When is a Sanctuary

not a Sanctuary?

The use of the word  'ethical' and 'sanctuary' has become very popular across Asia and can be misleading as many projects use this terminology to entice visitors. 
 

  • If your activity includes playing with baby elephants, smothering mud on an elephant, throwing buckets of water or getting in the water with the elephants, then your chosen project is not putting the elephants' welfare first. These activities are only for visitor interaction, not for the elephant. 

  • If mahouts (elephant handlers) are constantly shouting, controlling the elephants very closely (often with hidden nails), or pulling their ears, then you are not at an ethical project or sanctuary. 

  • If the mahout tells you that it is normal for the elephants to sway their heads in a bobbing motion, that they are happy and dancing, then you are not at an ethical project or sanctuary. When elephants sway their heads repetitively, this is a clear indication of stressful behaviour

Elephants are intelligent, sentient animals, beautiful just as they are. 

Elephants are not ours to ridicule in the circus or train to paint pictures. They should not be killed for their ivory, hunted as a sport, their body parts are not ours for trinkets or ornaments, nor ours to take from their family, or take away their young. We also don't need to ride, swim, or play with them.