桑博

每個旅程都從一個步驟開始

2011年,EARS ASIA領導了一次成功的國際運動,以退休51歲的雌象Sombo前往柬埔寨金邊為遊客提供遊樂設施。 Sombo過著孤獨的生活,在炎熱的柏油碎石路面上行走時,膿腫和趾甲長滿疼痛,我們擔心她會崩潰並最終死亡。

2012年1月30日星期一,EARS ASIA的創始人路易絲·羅傑森(Louise Rogerson)和桑博(Sombo)的家人及其大夫們,整夜走在安靜的道路上,步行到桑博(Sombo)到金邊郊區的新臨時住所。我們與她的家人緊密合作,提供了一項密集的兩年醫療計劃,由首席獸醫Paolo Martelli博士,DMV(列治),CertZooMed(RCVS)監督。 Paolo的結論表明,Sombo因足部皮膚炎,骨炎,溶骨作用以及在受損腳上堅硬的地面行走而引起的深層膿毒症而pain腳。

Sombo每天接受兩次含藥足浴,以減少細菌擴散並限制進一步感染,從而緩慢地幫助治愈膿腫的足。

2014年8月下旬,Sombo的家人與EARS ASIA進行了接觸,他們最終決定,他們心愛的大象應該在森林保護​​區度過暮年,現在她正在那裡度過寧靜與安寧的日落歲月。

我們的時事通訊概述了她的故事:

時事通訊Sombo 2014年9月

代表野生動物聯盟的祝賀信

祝賀信-Sombo.pdf

代表EARS ASIA,感謝我們出色的支持者關注Sombo的旅程。

沒有您的堅定支持,我們就不可能為這頭美麗的大象取得如此令人難以置信的結果。

©2019 EARS ASIA Hong Kong

Sombo

Every journey begins with a single step

In 2011, EARS ASIA led a successful international campaign to retire Sombo, a 51 year old female elephant, who was giving rides to tourists in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Sombo was living a solitary life, she had painful abscesses and overgrown toenails from walking on the hot tarmac roads, and we feared she would collapse and ultimately die.

On Monday 30th January 2012,  Louise Rogerson, founder of EARS ASIA, along with Sombo's family and their mahout, walked Sombo throughout the night when the roads were quiet, to her new temporary home on the outskirts of Phnom Penh. We worked closely with her family to provide an intensive 2 year medical program supervised by Chief Veterinarian Dr Paolo Martelli, DMV (liege), CertZooMed (RCVS). Paolo's conclusion stated that Sombo was painfully lame as a result of pododermatitis, osteitis, ostoelysis, and deep sepsis from walking on hard ground on damaged feet. 

Sombo received medicated foot baths twice daily which reduced bacterial proliferation and limited further infection, slowly helping to heal her abscessed feet. 

At the end of August 2014, Sombo's family reached out to EARS ASIA as they finally decided that their beloved elephant should spend her twilight years in a forest sanctuary, where she is now living her sunset years surrounded by peace and tranquility. 

Our newsletter outlined her story:

Newsletter Sombo Sept 2014

 

A Letter of Congratulations on behalf of Wildlife Alliance

Letter of Congratulations - Sombo.pdf

 

On behalf of EARS ASIA, thank you to our amazing supporters for following Sombo's journey. 

We could not have achieved this incredible result for this beautiful elephant without your unwavering support.