大象旅遊

每年,成千上萬的遊客湧向亞洲。通常在他們的清單清單的最頂端是看到一頭大象。許多人選擇騎大象而不知道這些美麗動物遭受的殘酷待遇。

在大多數迎合遊客的大象營地中,大象會騎乘,表演和繪畫。不論是在幕後,還是經常在我們面前,大像都被鉤,釘子,刀和矛毆打並刺傷,被迫每天遵守同樣的重複程序。由於多年的虐待,它們具有傷口和疤痕,經常會脫水,不足,工作過度,疲倦,遭受身心創傷,並且在不工作時被束縛並被剝奪了自然行為和與其他大象的社交互動。

參加運動:如果您喜歡大象...

不要騎

椅子放在大象的背上,並用粗繩子固定在它們的胃部和尾部下方,從而經常導致疼痛。超過150公斤的重量會給大象的背部帶來巨大壓力,這種壓力可能會因其重量和壓力分佈而受到影響,從而導致多年沈重的膿腫和病變。

不要買畫

一個流行的說法是,大象喜歡畫畫,不過,野生大象不畫了!被俘虜的大象經過痛苦訓練,握住刷子,並記住相同的重複筆觸來繪製花朵或樹木。他們忍受了幾個月的體育鍛煉,如果不聽話,通常會被鉤子或釘子釘在耳朵或嘴巴的敏感部位而遭到毆打。請不要購買畫作,以免殘害大象。  

不要在泥濘中游泳或玩耍

大象喜歡獨自或與其他大象交往並沐浴。為此,他們需要空間來飛濺,滾動,浸沒並用可愛的濃稠泥土覆蓋自己。如果人們在水中擁擠,不僅給大象帶來壓力,而且禁止自然行為。

通過站立或安靜地坐著,同時從遠處觀察大象,您就可以讓大像簡單地成為大象。這不僅具有教育意義,而且您還可以拍攝最精美的照片和視頻。

不要去看表演

訓練過的大象會表現出降級和不自然的技巧,通常包括踢足球,籃球,向氣球投擲飛鏢,旋轉籃球,前後腿保持平衡,倒立,彈奏樂器和騎自行車-大多伴有震耳欲聾的聲音音樂。馬戲團否認大象會造成精神和身體傷害的任何自然行為。

如果你喜歡大象...觀察

如果你計劃一個假期,其中包括大象體驗,請做你的研究,並使其無殘酷。

大像不喜歡吵鬧的聲音,不喜歡成群結隊的人擁擠,或者不停地被陌生人碰觸。

選擇一種體驗,您可以在大象的自然棲息地中觀察它們,以充分了解這些令人難以置信的動物。許多項目都提供了與大象同行的機會,您可以在那兒站起來觀察,並保持一定的距離,讓大象保持和平​​以表達自然的行為。通過給大象留出空間,他們就可以像您一樣自由地玩耍,沐浴,社交和享受自己的一天。

面對地球上最大的陸地哺乳動物,這確實是一種神奇,改變生命和令人難忘的經歷。

動物權利不是我們給予動物的禮物。

他們是我們從他們那裡獲得的與生俱來的權利。

瑞安·菲利普斯(Ryan Phillips)

©2019 EARS ASIA Hong Kong

Elephant Tourism

Every year, millions of tourists flock to Asia. Often at the top of their bucket list is to see an elephant. Many choose an elephant ride without knowing about the cruelty inflicted to these beautiful animals.

 

At most elephant camps catering to tourists, elephants give rides, perform in shows, and paint pictures. Both behind the scenes and often in front of us, elephants are beaten and stabbed with hooks, nails, knives and spears, forced to obey to do the same repetitive routine each day. They have wounds and scars from years of abuse, are often dehydrated, underfed, over-worked, tired, suffer physical and psychological trauma, and when not working, they are chained and deprived of natural behaviours and social interaction with other elephants.

Join the movement: If you love elephants...

don't ride

Chairs are positioned on the elephants back and held in place with thick rope around their stomach and under the tail often causing painful sores. Weight over 150 kgs puts immense pressure on the elephants’ back which may suffer from weight and pressure distribution resulting in abscesses and lesions from years of carrying a heavy load. 

don't buy paintings

A popular myth is that elephants love to paint, however, wild elephants do not paint! Captive-held elephants are trained through pain to hold a brush and memorize the same repetitive strokes to paint flowers or trees. They endure months of physical training and often beaten as punishment with a hook or nail rammed into the sensitive part of their ear or mouth, if they do not obey. Please don't buy paintings and contribute to elephant cruelty.  

don't swim or play in the mud

Elephants love to socialize and bathe either on their own or with other elephants. To do this, they need space to splash, roll, submerge, and cover themselves in lovely thick mud. If people are in the water crowding around, it is not only stressful for the elephants but also prohibits natural behaviours.

By standing back or sitting quietly whilst observing elephants from a distance, you are allowing elephants to simply be elephants. Not only is this educational but you are also able to take the most stunning photos and videos.

don't go to shows

Elephants are trained to perform degrading and unnatural tricks, usually including a game of football, basketball, throwing darts at balloons, twirling hoops, balancing on front and back legs, headstands, playing musical instruments, and riding a bicycle - mostly accompanied with deafening loud music. Circuses deny elephants any form of natural behaviour causing mental and physical trauma. 

If you love elephants... Observe

If you are planning a holiday that includes an elephant experience, please do your research and make it cruelty-free. 

Elephants don't like loud noises, huge groups of people crowding around, or constantly being touched by strangers. 

Choose an experience where you can observe elephants in their natural habitat to fully understand these incredible animals. Many projects offer walking with the elephants, where you stand back and observe at a respectful distance leaving the elephants in peace to express natural behaviours. By giving elephants their space, they have the freedom to play, bathe, socialise and enjoy their day, just as much as you. 

 

Just to be in the presence of the largest land mammal on earth is a truly magical, life changing, and memorable experience. 

Animal rights is not a gift we give animals.

They are a birthright that we have taken from them.

Ryan Phillips