基里和塞拉

2012年5月至2015年9月24日,EARS ASIA在柬埔寨的Teuk Chhou動物園提供了Kiri和Seila的護理。大像生活在可悲的環境中已有十多年了,迫切需要幫助。

我們在香港的Fiona Hardie Ltd和中國的北京Infinity共同資助下,為大象建造了一個寬敞的圍欄。我們還對這些大象進行了全面的維護和保養,包括獸醫護理,包括草,香蕉樹,甘蔗和竹子在內的日常食物供應,沙車,養料,員工和薪水。

基里(Kiri)和塞拉(Seila)都在20年代初,他們沒有經過艱苦的訓練來破壞自己的精神,他們沒有被迫工作,並且從未認識過連鎖店。他們在大片土地上漫遊,可以自由表達自己的個性。

鑑於他們的生命長壽,我們希望有一天能在天然森林棲息地中建立庇護環境,但不幸的是並非如此。

2015年,我們了解到有可能進行國際動物園貿易,以將這些大象重新安置到日本的平川動物園。對此消息感到震驚的是,我們發起了一場運動,將柬埔寨的著名和本土大象留在自己的祖國。我們的競選取得了成功,基里和塞拉仍留在德州動物園。但是,很遺憾,我們於2015年9月24日被驅逐出動物園,並禁止為大象提供任何進一步的護理。

Teuk Chhou動物園歸柬埔寨政客Nhim Vanda先生所有,後者最近出售了這片土地,關閉了動物園,並重新安置了他的動物。一些人被安置到他在Prey Veng的動物園Bayap Zoo中。

基里(Kiri)和塞拉(Seila)被遷移到柬埔寨境內的金邊野生動物園(Phnom Penh Safari),該旅遊娛樂設施由LYP Group的HE Okhna Ly Yong Phat擁有。

孩子是我們的未來

在2015年的兒童著色運動中,許多年輕藝術家成為Kiri和Seila的代言人。這些才華橫溢,熱情奔放的動物愛好者創造了色彩繽紛的大象設計,並傳達了強有力的信息來保護Kiri和Seila。

這些照片已發送給柬埔寨和日本政府,呼籲停止將Kiri和Seila貿易到平川動物園。

我們非常感謝以下學校的支持:

-柬埔寨紅路基金會

-美國北卡羅來納州普羅維登斯一日學校

-墨西哥普埃布拉Cholula的Colegio Humanista Alfonso Reyes

©2019 EARS ASIA Hong Kong

Kiri and Seila

​EARS ASIA was assisting with the care of Kiri and Seila at Teuk Chhou Zoo in Cambodia from May 2012 to 24th September 2015. The elephants had been living in deplorable conditions for over a decade and help was urgently needed.

We built the elephants a spacious enclosure funded by Fiona Hardie Ltd in Hong Kong and Beijing Infinity in China. We also provided the upkeep and care of these elephants in it's entirety to include veterinary care, a daily food supply including grasses, banana trees, sugarcane and bamboo, trucks of sand, enrichment, staff and salaries.

Kiri and Seila, both in their early 20's, had not endured the harsh training to break their spirit, they were not forced to work, and had never known chains. They roamed throughout the large field and were free to express their individual personalities.

 

With a long life ahead of them, we hoped to one day secure a sanctuary environment in a natural forest habitat but unfortunately this wasn't to be. 

In 2015, we learnt of a potential international zoo trade to relocate the elephants to Hirakawa Zoo in Japan. Devastated at this news, we launched a campaign to keep Cambodia's famous and native elephants in their home country. Our campaign was successful, and Kiri and Seila remained at Teuk Chhou Zoo. However, we were unfortunately ejected from the zoo on the 24th September 2015 and prohibited to provide any further care for the elephants.

Teuk Chhou Zoo was owned by Cambodian Politician, H.E. Nhim Vanda, who recently sold the land, closed down the zoo, and relocated his animals. Some were re-homed to Bayap Zoo, his zoo in Prey Veng. 

Kiri and Seila were relocated within Cambodia to Phnom Penh Safari, a tourism entertainment facility, owned by H.E. Okhna Ly Yong Phat of LYP Group. 

Children are our future

In 2015, our Children's Colouring Campaign saw many young artists be a voice for Kiri and Seila. These talented and passionate animal lovers created colourful elephant designs with a powerful message to protect Kiri and Seila.

These pictures were sent to the Cambodian and Japanese governments to appeal to Stop the Trade of Kiri and Seila to a Hirakawa Zoo. 

We are incredibly grateful to the following schools for their support:

- The Red Road Foundation, Cambodia

- Providence Day School, North Carolina, USA

- Colegio Humanista Alfonso Reyes, Cholula, Puebla in Mexico